what you don't know can hurt you
Home Files News &[SERVICES_TAB]About Contact Add New

Skype 5.x.x Information Disclosure

Skype 5.x.x Information Disclosure
Posted Feb 13, 2012

Even if a user has their security settings with no history enabled, Skype 5.x.x fails to securely remove chat messages stored in the sqlite3 database.

tags | exploit, info disclosure
SHA-256 | 71d5feb9cc956c726042c458e08a52e135cac25deae5200ce474ea31c5489a36

Skype 5.x.x Information Disclosure

Change Mirror Download
Title:
======
Skype v. 5.x.x - information disclosure

Date:
=====
2012-02-13

Introduction:
=============
Skype is a proprietary voice-over-Internet Protocol service and
software application.

Abstract:
=========
We have discovered improper chat logs handling, which cause in logs
accessibility even if user had enabled "no history" option in "Keep
history for" settings or even destroy it manually with "Clear history"
button.

Report-Timeline:
================
2012-02-13: Public Disclosure

Status:
========
Published

Exploitation-Technique:
=======================
Local

Severity:
=========
Low

Details:
========
As mentioned in the Skype FAQ
(https://support.skype.com/en-gb/faq/FA140/Managing-your-privacy-settings-Windows):
"You can choose how long to keep your conversation history for, or
delete it altogether.
1. To change your history settings, in Skype from the menu bar click
Skype > Privacy.
2. Below Keep history for, click on the drop-down list and select the
amount of time you would like your history to be saved for.
Choose from forever, 3 months, 1 month, 2 weeks or no history at all.
3. To delete your conversation history, click Clear history. This
removes your entire history, including instant messages, calls,
voicemails, text messages, sent and received files. If you delete your
conversation history, you cannot recover it."

This sounds safely, but in fact Skype stored all incoming and outgoing
chat messages into local sqlite3 DB (file main.db, table Messages), in
plain text. Even if "Keep history for"->"no history" option in
Settings->Security is enabled, Skype write all your data into Messages
table, but executes "delete * from Messages" after program exit. This
command will destroy messages at logical level in DB, but in fact, in
physical level all messages data stay alive (blocks in the DB file
only marks as destroyed), and simply can be recovered even with text
editor (as mentioned above, it is stored in plain text).

Proof of Concept:
=================
In Windows XP, go to "C:\Documents and Settings\%user
name%\Application Data\Skype\%Skype user name%" and open file main.db
with text editor. All the ducks inside.

Credits:
========
Anonymous

Login or Register to add favorites

File Archive:

June 2024

  • Su
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • 1
    Jun 1st
    0 Files
  • 2
    Jun 2nd
    0 Files
  • 3
    Jun 3rd
    18 Files
  • 4
    Jun 4th
    21 Files
  • 5
    Jun 5th
    0 Files
  • 6
    Jun 6th
    57 Files
  • 7
    Jun 7th
    6 Files
  • 8
    Jun 8th
    0 Files
  • 9
    Jun 9th
    0 Files
  • 10
    Jun 10th
    12 Files
  • 11
    Jun 11th
    27 Files
  • 12
    Jun 12th
    38 Files
  • 13
    Jun 13th
    16 Files
  • 14
    Jun 14th
    14 Files
  • 15
    Jun 15th
    0 Files
  • 16
    Jun 16th
    0 Files
  • 17
    Jun 17th
    0 Files
  • 18
    Jun 18th
    0 Files
  • 19
    Jun 19th
    0 Files
  • 20
    Jun 20th
    0 Files
  • 21
    Jun 21st
    0 Files
  • 22
    Jun 22nd
    0 Files
  • 23
    Jun 23rd
    0 Files
  • 24
    Jun 24th
    0 Files
  • 25
    Jun 25th
    0 Files
  • 26
    Jun 26th
    0 Files
  • 27
    Jun 27th
    0 Files
  • 28
    Jun 28th
    0 Files
  • 29
    Jun 29th
    0 Files
  • 30
    Jun 30th
    0 Files

Top Authors In Last 30 Days

File Tags

Systems

packet storm

© 2022 Packet Storm. All rights reserved.

Services
Security Services
Hosting By
Rokasec
close